Research point 4.2

Research in Identifying Font

Other characters:

! ” £ $ % ^ & * ( ) _ + – = ¬ < > ? / * | \ ; : ’ @ # ~ { [ } ]

Typography in Mini Undergraduate Prospectus 2018 (University of Bedfordshire)

My results using www.indentifont.com could not find a perfect match instead I was given the closest match (Linotype Univers Condensed) and 27 close matches. I think I may have answered some questions wrong due to me taking reference from the normal and bold font found in the book. I know think that these could be two different fonts even though they look identical. I was also unable to answer some questions because I did not have the letter required for reference.

I was surprised with the amount of questions asked to identify a typeface but it really made me realise the small intricacies that can change a font. At first it’s hard to distinguish between two fonts but when you look closely and understand what to look for then the differences can be seen. The small details like angle, serifs, straight leg or curve all make the difference.

Leave a Reply

